Philadelphia Great Schools Compact

The Great Schools Compact is a joint commitment of school providers and education leaders to ensure that policies, strategies and resources align to a common goal of providing a high-performing school option for every child.

The Compact is signed by The School District of Philadelphia, The Pennsylvania Coalition of Charter Schools, Philadelphia Charters for Excellence, the Mayor's Office of Education, Pennsylvania Department of Education, and the Archdiocese of Philadelphia as a commitment to share responsibility and work together to expand high-quality K-12 school options and dramatically reduce the number of chronically underperforming schools by 2016-17. Please click here to review the Great Schools Compact.

The Philadelphia School Partnership serves as the facilitator of the Compact Committee. The committee was established to oversee implementation of the Compact tenants and action plan, adhering to a results-driven timeline. The committee is comprised of eight voting and two non-voting members. Voting members include:

  • Dr. Lori Shorr, Chief Education Officer, Mayor’s Office of Education (Chair)
  • Casey Carter, CEO, Faith in the Future Foundation
  • Joe Dworetzky, Commissioner, School Reform Commission
  • Dr. Naomi Johnson-Booker, CEO of Global Leadership Academy
  • Lawrence Jones, CEO of Richard Allen Preparatory Charter School
  • Paul Kihn, Deputy Superintendent, School District of Philadelphia
  • Wendell Pritchett, Commissioner, School Reform Commission
  • David Rossi, CEO of Nueva Esperanza Academy
  • David Volkman/Dale Hamby, Office of the Pennsylvania Secretary of Education

Nonvoting members include:

  • Carol Cary, Superintendent of Secondary Schools Archdiocese of Philadelphia, Office of Catholic Education
  • Mark Gleason, Executive Director of the Philadelphia School Partnership
  • Scott Gordon, CEO of Mastery Charter Schools

Updates from Compact Committee meetings are available here.